2017 Awards Jury

2017 AIBC Architectural Awards Jury


Michael HeeneyMichael Heeney Architect AIBC FRAIC RI (BC) LEED AP, Principal, Bing Thom Architects Inc.

Jury Chair

Michael Heeney has been integral to the growth of Bing Thom Architects Inc. since joining the firm in the late 1980s. Leading local and international projects, Michael is known for using creativity and diplomacy to move ideas forward, bring people together and create synergy. Michael is passionate about the contribution that innovative architecture, creativity and culture bring to the health and vitality of our communities. In addition to his professional activities, Michael has served or is serving on the boards of the Vancouver Art Gallery, the Downtown Vancouver Association, the Vancouver Economic Development Commission, Lambda Alpha International and the PuSh Festival.


Andrew GruftAndrew Gruft Retired Architect AIBC, Professor Emeritus, UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture

Andrew Gruft is a Professor Emeritus at the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, where he taught architectural and urban design studios, as well as seminars in theory and criticism. He has curated several architecture exhibitions and authored many publications on contemporary Canadian architecture, including Substance Over Spectacle: Contemporary Canadian Architecture; Patkau Architects; A Measure of Consensus: Canadian Architecture in Transition; Patkau Architects: Projects 1978-1990; Vancouver Architecture: The Last Fifteen Years; and Idea into Form. While an associate of Rhone & Iredale Architects, he was the designer and project architect of the Peace River Power Project in Northern B.C.


Jason KingJason King Architect AIBC, Owner, Jason King Architects

As the owner of Jason King Architects, Jason has over 25 years of professional experience, and 12 years experience teaching architecture, most recently at the Bartlett School (London), and Columbia University (New York). He has served as a juror for the Canada Council of the Arts Awards Program, the City of Victoria Ship Point International Competition, and numerous academic juries. Jason’s firm was among ten firms selected for Architectural Record’s first Vanguard issue in 2000, and he has won and been a finalist in several international design competitions. He won an ID Magazine Award, an AIA Honor Award, the Canada Council’s Architecture Grant in 1995, and the Prix de Rome in 2000.


Peeroj ThakrePeeroj Thakre Architect AIBC LEED AP, Principal, ph5 Architecture Inc.

Peeroj is a founding principal of ph5 Architecture Inc. and Urban Republic arts society. She works on a wide range of projects from public and commercial buildings and interiors to temporary installations and collaborations with artists. Her design approach is a blend of pragmatism and idealism that leads to successfully realized projects with spatial environments that support positive social interactions.

Peeroj is active in the architecture community as a mentor, urban thinker and guest critic at the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. Her work has been recognized with an RAIC advocacy award and the firm has been noted as an emerging Canadian design practice.


Alex BozikovicAlex Bozikovic, Architectural Critic, Globe and Mail

Alex Bozikovic is the architecture critic for The Globe and Mail, covering architecture and urbanism across Canada and globally. He won a National Magazine Award and has written for publications such as Azure, Blueprint, Dwell, Frame and Spacing. He is writing a new edition of Toronto Architecture: A City Guide, to be published by McClelland and Stewart in 2017.


Donald LuxtonDonald Luxton FRAIC, Principal, Donald Luxton and Associates Inc.

Donald Luxton is the principal of a leading western Canadian heritage and cultural resource management firm, and a well-known consultant, advocate, educator and author. For more than three decades he has worked on numerous projects throughout western Canada. His expertise, interest and accomplishments have been acknowledged by numerous awards, including the Heritage Canada Achievement Award in 2003. Additionally, he has been awarded numerous literary prizes, including a B.C. Book Prize in 2004. In 2007, he was elected to the College of Fellows of the RAIC.