LG Awards

The Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Awards in Architecture (“the LGs”), were established to recognize excellence in completed architectural projects led or designed by AIBC members. Firms, clients and lead design architects associated with chosen projects are honoured for their achievements in one of two award levels: Medal or Merit.



For a project to be considered, at least one of the project’s lead design architects must be an AIBC registered architect (Architect AIBC) active at the time of project completion. AIBC associates and non-members may also be credited as project team members.

Projects entered must have been completed between January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018.

Eligibility includes projects that are:

  • Built within B.C. or outside the province;
  • Independent or collaborative;
  • Urban, suburban or rural;
  • Renovation, restoration, addition or new building;
  • Residential, commercial, public or other type of commission; and
  • Small or large, simple or complex.
  • Projects that have previously won an AIBC Architectural Award are not eligible.


Judging Criteria

Each eligible project submission will be judged individually on how it reflects excellence in architectural design and practice. A reputable, unbiased jury representing the architectural community will consider the overall quality of each submission with consideration given to the following criteria:

  • Theory and Design Principles
  • Program and Client
  • Context and Site
  • Budget and Time Constraints
  • Sustainability Principles

Note: There is no specific weighting for each criterion listed.



Please follow the LG Awards submission process


Entry Fees

Those wishing to be considered for the LG Awards must submit a fee of $160 CAD plus GST for each submission.  If the same project is being entered in both the LG and Innovation Award categories, no additional fee is required for the Innovation Award submission.

Go To: How to Submit – LG Awards Submissions